Hiatus Officially Over

wpid-20150506_113443.jpg

So, well over a month ago, I said screw it, and decided to buy some long over due new tires for my way under ridden bike. It has been something like, well too f-ing long since I’ve been on my bike. Okay, it’s been 3 years. Flog me now, and lets get it over with, go on, flog me, I know I deserve it. I can say a plethora of things, some of which might even be valid, but ultimately, the failure is on me. I stopped riding. I can say life, jobs, and shitty relationship got in the way, blah, blah, blah, whine, whine, whine.

It felt a bit awkward, like for a split second, just after my right foot clipped in for the first time in years, but it all came back in a rush, and my mind, and body were all like, “Hey, why haven’t we done this sooner? We’ll forgive you though, because this is so…weeeeeeeeeee.” They quickly forgave me and I was off towards the trail. Wow, it felt so good to be outside, and in nature, after a very long winter holed up in my apartment. What are all of the green things, oh right, trees, and grass, and birds, oh my.

Those first two paragraphs, were written on May 7, with a minor edit to the very beginning discussing time. Yet, it has taken my lazy ass a month plus, to sit down and put my excursions to paper, so to speak.

My bike adventures, thus far, have been relegated to one part of the Alum Creek Greenway Trail, because small sections of the south are having bridges, boardwalks, and repairs done. Though today, I got the nerve, and rode up Sunbury Road, which is a wee bit crazy, because traffic is stupid busy on a narrow two lane road, with the tiniest of shoulders, if at all. I pedaled up to McCutcheon Road, and hit Mock Metro Park, where the trail picked up, and headed south. Wow, it was such a nice change of view. The work, and money that the city has put into renovations is beautiful, long boardwalks, and amazing bridges. I rode as for as I could in that direction, before I ran into a bridge still under construction. I turned around, and headed north. I hit Mock park and continued north, knowing that I would hit the construction that’s prevented me from using that part of the trail. I came across a fantastically long boardwalk, then soon hit the “Road Closed” sign, and promptly turned around…just kidding. The brat in me wanted to know what exactly they were doing, and how far along they were, because everything looked okay from my standpoint. I lifted my bike over the gate, and proceeded to ride the boardwalk, all the while keeping an eye out for any workers. I crossed a new bridge, pedaled slowly around curves, and ran into…no one. The trail is, for all intents and purposes, finished. Looks like they just have a few railings, and a bit of cosmetic work to do. So, I’m guessing it’ll be opening in the nearest future. Can’t wait!

Ride Safe,
Patrick

Leave a Reply

