This Charming Commute

Strange title indeed. I’ve had The Smiths in my head the past couple of days, so there. Friday’s commute was pretty…well, fantastic. Morning temp was about 60*F and a bit overcast, but it was warmer than it has been. I almost talked myself out of  riding, telling myself to give my legs a rest day.  “Hell no!” I thought, they’ll have the weekend to rest and recover. I hit the pavement and began my journey. Ahh, I love warmer temps. The ride into work went pretty well, no major traffic issues, and I kept a pretty good pace. As of this post I’m averaging 13.3 MPH. Yea, it’s not great, but it’s better than the first day which was 12.1MPH. Got to work in  a decent time, about 40 minutes.

The rode home felt like a totally different day. Clouds moved in and it began to rain, well, drizzle, but when the temps dropping, wet and cool don’t mix well. Luckily I had my rain jacket, kept the top dry, but the legs and, of course, feet got wet. A little less than half way home the rain stopped. By the time I hit Greenlawn, my legs were dry and I had warmed up enough that the cooler air didn’t have the sting it did earlier. On my way through I had the pleasure of spotting a Downy Woodpecker. He had been on the ground about 4 feet from me, but I spooked him and he jumped in to the tree he was near. It was cool being that close to him. The joy was quickly diminished, because as I hit SR62 the wind was waiting to greet me, head on of course. So, that push up 62 was a little slow, but not as bad as it could have been. Arrived home in a decent time, 40 minutes, which at this point seems to be the best time, give or take a few minutes in either direction.

All in all an uneventful ride, but that’s not always a bad thing. No?

RIDE SAFE!

Thanks for stopping by, Patrick

Leave a Reply

