I Actually Enjoyed It…

Okay, here’s a confession. One of the reasons I wasn’t riding, was that well, to be quite honest, I didn’t enjoy the commute. The main thing being that my bike set up just made it too much work and it was uncomfortable. So, I’ve tried various set ups, like handle bars, saddle position, pedals(cage and clips), etc. Turns out it was the gearing, I was running, strained my legs and just made for an unpleasant experience. I switched between two bikes, both SS and fixed. The fixed, at this point, was too hard on my bad knee, and the gearing on the SS was, frankly, too big for long haul commuting. The set up I rode yesterday seems to be the ticket. My legs weren’t  hammered when I arrived at work, a little bit, but that’s to be expected after not riding since March. The same goes for the ride home. Oh, don’t get me wrong, I’m feeling it today, but my mood and body are better. I am currently riding a 42×16 set up with Egg Beater pedals (love). We’ll see how today goes, make sure our ride yesterday wasn’t a fluke.

Here’s a bit of cool art from

~ibrokemyumbrella

Peace, Patrick – SSD Crew

Leave a Reply

