10 Questions For Soul: Ryan a.k.a. Anarchist Cyclist

Have I mentioned hot? Well, damn is it ever….105 degrees. My commute yesterday wasn’t too bad, the heat kicked my ass a bit though. Yesterday’s ride was made much more enjoyable since I picked my bike up from the bike shop (see Red Rock Bicycles in the link section) and it’s got fresh new bar tape, new brake cables and a functioning front brake (finally), and a new saddle. The original was something like 6 years old, my behind is better for it.

Peace, Patrick – SSD Crew

________________________________________________________________

Anyway, on to another set of 10 Questions for Soul. This set comes from Ryan, mad scientist over at the Anarchist Cyclist web blog and cool shop guy at Red Rock Bicycles. Be on the look out for a full interview and profile of Ryan and the Anarchist Cyclist web blog in the nearest future.

1. Name: Ryan Gurr
2. Location: St. George, UT
3. How long have you been riding?: 15 years (excluding my early childhood)
4. First bike: No-name purple machine
5. Current bike(s): Specialized SW Tarmac SL, Specialized Tricross, Specialized Enduro SL, Specialized Globe I8, Raleigh 29’er, Electra Hawaii 3, Electra Amsterdam, Schwinn Orange Crate. (I Love Bikes).
6. Favorite riding terrain: All of the above. Commuting to long road rides, aggressive mountain biking to epic singletrack. Most of my time is spent on one of my commuters, however I try to get a couple of road rides and a mountain ride in every week.
7. Favorite post ride food: It depends on the ride. If I spent the day commuting, I enjoy bean burritos and a porter or stout beer. If it was a long, draining road ride then I eat a bean burrito and drink lots and lots of water. If it was a mountain bike ride, I eat a bean burrito and an English-style pale-ale (Boddingtons is my fav).
8. Pet peeve while riding: Cyclists who won’t wave or say hello.
9. What do you do for a living?: I attempt to offset my involvement in this imperialistic capitalistic nation until I can find a way to effectively modify the system by working in the only industry I believe in, the bicycle industry.
10: Favorite quote(s):
“Anarchism is founded on the observation that since few men are wise enough to rule themselves, even fewer are wise enough to rule others.” – Edward Abbey

”I have observed that the world has suffered far less from ignorance than from pretensions to knowledge. It is not skeptics or explorers but fanatics and ideologues who menace decency and progress. No agnostic ever burned anyone at the stake or tortured a pagan, a heretic, or an unbeliever.” – Daniel Boorstin

Leave a Reply

